Archive for February, 2011

I opened a forwarded email from a friend the other day, and to my horror, saw this:

A Screenshot

I see a lot of email addresses, but not a lot of the actual message.

I was greeted by a long list of email addresses, before actually getting to what the message was about. Before forwarding a message, some formating needs to be done.

It’s important to check the message is true before passing it along. A site I use is called Snopes.com. Users can search for email messages they’ve received and check whether they are true or not true at all. In this case, one of the people who received this message had added a message saying that they had verified that it was true and provided a link.

After verifying the message, remove those email addresses from the message and format the message to look a little nicer. Imagine if you were the one composing the message and sending it to your friends. How would you like it to look when they got it?

When it’s time to select people to forward the message to, look for a “Bcc” option (which stands for “blind carbon copy”), instead of using the “To” field. This way, recipients won’t see who else got the message and be able to steal the sender’s friends’ email addresses. Usually, there is a link to click that says “Show Bcc” located near the “To” box in order to see the box to add users to it. When a user clicks on “Bcc” in most cases, it will open a list of contacts that can be selected to be added to that box.

Here is what the email should have looked like when I received it.

Another screenshot.

What a forwarded email should look like.

As seen above, the email looks much nicer and I don’t have to scroll down for eternity to find the message.

P.S. Sometimes, I’ll get a message with a video attachment. This clogs up my inbox and space on my computer (if using a computer-based email client). Instead, find the video on YouTube and post a link to it instead.

DISCLAIMER: I don’t use Hotmail. I use GMail!

Facebook recently announced the launch of new Pages and the new messaging system.

The updates to Facebook Pages make them the same as the new profile that came out a few months back. Instead of tabs along the top, users can navigate using the links in the left hand sidebar, just link any other place on the Facebook site.  Users will also see a row of photos along the top of the Page, similar to the “recently tagged” photos along the top of the profile.

A major feature of this update allows Pages to post as that Page on other Pages, so it looks like the post or comment is coming directly from that page, and not just another Facebook user. This allows Pages within a community to interact with each other as businesses/social clubs etc. For example, Pages from businesses and clubs within a city can interact with each other to tell each other (and their fans) about things happening in the community.

Along with this update, Facebook is also rolling out the new messaging system to those who don’t already have it. Back in November, Facebook announced their new messaging system, and allowed a few people to receive invites to the new messaging system. I myself received one of those invites, so I’ve had the chance to use it for a few months now.

There are many new features in the new messaging system. The inbox is sorted by friends, instead of subjects. When creating a new message, users no longer have the option to input a subject, just a name and a  message. Click on a friend’s name, and you’ll see all the messages and chats you’ve ever had between each other, all in a timeline format.

One of the other new features about the messaging system is a social inbox, meaning only friends or people who have messaged a user before will appear in the inbox. Anyone else who sends you a message automatically goes to the Other folder, which can be accessed by clicking on Messages and then Other. (I don’t particularly like this feature though, because I have to click on Messages to see if I have any new messages in the Other folder, and I don’t always remember to do that.)

If you have a Facebook Username (sign up here), you’ll be able to opt-in to receive messages via your Facebook email address, which will be yourUsername@facebook.com. Facebook automatically detects when a message is sent from a friend’s email account, so it will appear as coming from that friend. If you aren’t friends with them, the message appears in the Other folder.

One of the most requested features that Facebook is now implementing is the ability to leave a thread (a message that was sent to multiple people). The old messaging system would not allow that, so if a user was included in it by someone else, and didn’t want to be, that user would automatically receive updates every time someone posted a new message, even though that user wouldn’t like too. To leave a thread in the new messaging system, just go to Actions while viewing a thread, and click Leave Conversation.

If you administer a Page, you can opt-in to a new page right away by clicking here. Note that if you don’t chose to opt-in right away, Facebook will automatically give you the new Page on March 10, 2011, (five days before it shuts down…. just kidding 😀 ).

P.S. It also looks like Facebook is rolling out the new Photo Viewer to everyone.

YouTube has launched a channel for watching, rating and sharing Superbowl ads. This year, after the ads air, they will be posted to this channel for people to watch again, rate and share.

Personally, I don’t watch football, but I’ll definitely be checking out this channel over the weekend as they post new commercials.

You can view the channel at http://youtube.com/adblitz

YouTube Ad Blitz

A screenshot of YouTube's Ad Blitz channel, where ads will be posted after they air.